Vieux Caron

Que vient faire Vieux Caron avec mon histoire sur Jean Nicolet?

Bonne question. C’est un de mes anciens copains sur My Heritage qui m’avait envoyé un courriel la semaine dernière.

Gary Boyd s’intéresse à ses racines amérindiennes .

Et pour cause! Il serait lié à Charles de Langlade et au Vieux Caron. Il m’a envoyé un document de 43 pages où il fait les liens avec Vieux Caron et ses descendants. Je suis en train de lire son document et ceci avait attiré mon attention.

The French came to the area in the 1600s when Samuel de Champlain (~1567-1635), the French Governor of La Nouvelle France, mistakenly thought for sure that his explorers were on the verge of finding the elusive northwest passage to China. So in 1634 he commissioned Jean Nicolet (~1598-1642) with the mission of meeting whom he thought were the “People of the Sea” on the east coast of China. So Nicolet acquired this, what Hoffman described as, a “grand robe of Chinese damask which was all strewn with flowers and birds of many colors”.

Evidently he orchestrated his arrival, when thinking that he had arrived in China, he donned the silken and exquisitely-designed Chinese gold-embroidered robe, stood upon the shore, extended his arms up holding two pistol muskets, fired them off and then shouted the expression that Algonquins (mainly Menominee and Ojibway ancestors) adopted into the Algonquin language: Bonjour!

Jean Nicolet steps ashore at Red Banks in 1634.

 

Jean_Nicolet

“Bonjour!”

 

Sans blague, je ne savais pas avant dimanche matin que Jean Nicolet était un de mes ancêtres directs.

Disons que j’enviais un ti-peu depuis 2009 mon épouse qui était une descendante directe de Tec Cornelius Aubrenan, le premier Irlandais à mettre le pied en Amérique. Pas assez envieux par contre pour foutre le bordel dans notre ménage.

Jeanne

Pfttt… Jean Nicolet…

Que de choses à raconter à mes petits-enfants quand ils seront plus grands sur leur lointain ancêtre Jean Nicolet.

En tout cas, je ne suis pas le seul énervé à tripper sur cet ancêtre.

Curieux?

Je le savais.

On se repogne avec mes liens qui m’amènent au Wisconsin et à une belle Amérindienne.

belle amérindienne

En attendant, voici des notes trouvés sur Vieux Caron dans ce document que j’avais caché dans un hyperlien. On dit qu’il était avec Charles de Langlade lors de la bataille des plaines d’Abraham.

VIEUX CARRON DYNASTY.
Old Carron or Vieux Carron, said to be the son of a French trader, was born about 1700 and died in « the old king’s village » in 1780. He was a fierce old warrior, having served in all the French wars and with Montcalm on the heights of Abraham. He assisted Lieutenant Gorrill, with the English garrison, to escape from the Green Bay post in 1763, when the Pontiac Beaver war was on. Sir William Johnson sent a certificate to Ogemaunee for this service which must have been his Indian name. He was for many years head orator. His children were Glade, Tomah, Shequanene, lometah and three daughters. 

Et la réaction de mon fils…

gaston lagaffe 3

J’ai lu ton blogue lundi matin…