Vive les mariés!

Un mariage comme les autres?

Détrompez-vous.

Un de mes lecteurs sur mon blogue Our Ancestors m’a écrit en fin de semaine un commentaire et m’a envoyé cette photo.

George Roland Alexander et Edith Elizabeth Duke
5 février 1944

Bonjour,

I guess I did not make myself clear in my post.  My uncle by marriage, George Roland Alexander, was the youngest son of John B. Alexander (Jean-Baptiste Alexandre) and his second wife Odila Courchaine Alexander. 

Uncle George was born in Bristol, Hartford County, Connecticut on 12 October 1917 and died in Middletown, Middlesex County, Connecticut on 24 April 1998.  He married Edith Elizabeth Duke on 05 February 1944 in Bristol.  Edith Duke, b. 08 March 1918 Decatur Co., Georgia and d. 06 Sep 1963 in Middletown, CT, was the daughter of Clarence Gordon Duke and Maude Edith Granger. Edith was my father’s older sister.  Edith and George Alexander had one son, George Roland Alexander, Jr., b. 14 September 1953 in Waterbury, New Haven Co., Connecticut. 

In the attached photograph, Edith and George are the couple on the right.  The man to the far left is George’s brother, Henry G. Alexander (1913 – 1988), and the woman to the left is their sister, Irene Margaret Alexander (1916 – 1964).  Uncle George enlisted in the United States Army 21 January 1943, which explains the uniform he is wearing in the photograph.

Ed Duke

J’étais perplexe, car je me demandais si j’avais la même famille Alexandre. Ed n’est pas relié directement à cette famille. Edith Elizabeth Duke, soeur de son père, est la jeune mariée.

Edith Elizabeth Duke est décédée en 1963. Ed préserve la mémoire des membres de sa famille tout comme moi.

George Alexander, le marié, est le fils de cet homme… John B. Alexander.

John B. Alexander est le fils de mon arrière-grand-tante Philomène Lagacé. Il est par conséquent le petit-fils de David Alexandre notre patriote de Napierville. Il est aussi le frère de Myra, d’Agnès, de Flavie, d’Hélène et de Marie.

J’avais presque tout trouvé sur cette famille sauf lui.

JOHN B. ALEXANDER

John B. Alexander, aged 73 years, died at his home, 92 Riverside avenue, this morning following an illness of a week, though he had been ailing for the past three years.

The funeral will be held at his home at 7:30 o’clock Wednesday morning with a high mass of requiem in St. Ann’s Church at 8 a.m.  Interment, in charge of Undertaker James J. Dunn, will be in the new St. Joseph’s Cemetery.

Mr. ALexander was born in St. Charles, P.Q., Canada , on June 28, 1862, son of John and Filomena Alexander.  His early life was spent in his native place,  He came to this city twenty-three years ago.  He was employed for sixteen years by the city, retiring three years ago on account of his health.  He was a member of the St. Jean Baptiste Society and of St. Ann’s Church.

Mr. Alexander was twice married.  He is survived by his wife, Mrs. Adile C. Alexander; five sons, Lionel Alexander, of this city; Joseph Alexander, of Cheshire, David, Henry and George Alexander, of this city; five daughters, Misses Beatrice and Irene Alexander of this city, Mrs. Napoleon Gingras of New Britain, Mrs. Albert Choiniere of Bristol, and Mrs. Ernest Sorel of New Britain; two sisters, Mrs. William Archambeault and Miss Mary Alexander, of this city; and one brother, Peter Alexander, of this city.

Je savais qu’il avait existé, mais je n’avais pas de photos, sauf celle ci-dessus. Je ne savais pas que c’était la sienne.

Depuis des gens m’ont écrit et m’ont envoyé des photos…

La morale dans tout ça…

Il ne faut jamais jeter de vieilles photos. Elles peuvent toujours être utiles un jour…

Cliquez ici maintenant.

Laisser un commentaire

